This week, I never quite got around to meal planning, but I knew I had a few things I had to use up. The first of which was some cauliflower that had been in the fridge a while. It is, fortunately, a nice and robust vegetable.

For dinner last night, I wasn’t much in the mood to do something complicated, so we planned to do a Trader Joe’s Indian frozen meal, which we split between the 2 of us over some brown rice (also Trader Joes). I also wanted to make a vegetable, and I figured it was a good time to try the cauliflower. Keeping with the Indian theme, I decided to attempt a curried cauliflower. I wanted it to be a quick, one-pot dish.

The flavor was light in this dish, I wanted to avoid smack-you-in-the-face spicy. I loved the way this turned out, and I plan to make it again.

Enjoy!

Curried Cauliflower

Curried Cauliflower

Ingredients

1 head of cauliflower
1 medium onion, chopped
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp curry powder (I used spices from my masala dabba including garim masala, corriander, tumeric, and chili powder)
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp red chili flakes
6 tbsp water

Masala Dabba
My masala dabba – aren’t Indian spices just beautiful

Directions

Remove any leaves and the stems from the cauliflower, then wash well. Cut into florets.

Cauliflower

In a pan, heat the oil and once smoking slightly, add the spices. Cook until the spies are slightly browned, about 3-5 minutes. Add the onion and cauliflower to the pan and cook for 4-5 minutes.

Add the water to the pan and cover. Cook for an additional 8-10 min or until as soft as you like your vegetables.