My husband sent me this recipe requesting these cookie bars with some immediacy. He found the recipe through one of his readerson his running blog, Wisely and Slow. I have never been much of a cookie bar maker, I am a purist and I like my cookies round. But I decided to give these a try as written.

Google tells me the recipe originated from a blogger who does not love ice cream but liked the inclusions in Ben and Jerry’s Chubby Hubby ice cream.

The recipe is pretty easy, it makes a ton, and the bars are good. Not great. I would tweak these a bit by using two thirds of the caramel, more and larger pretzel pieces, and a thin layer of sea salt on top of the caramel. I love some salt in my dessert.

My task to you all is to make these with my tweaks and let me know how it works out. I recommend these for a gathering or foisting upon coworkers.

Chubby Hubby Bars

IMG_1644

Ingredients
1 cup butter, room temp
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp sea salt
1 tsp baking soda
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 cups coursely chopped pretzels
1 bag (8oz) mini Reese’s pb cups (you can usually find these in the candy aisle)
14 oz caramels
1 tbsp water
2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips

IMG_1617

Directions
Preheat your oven to 350. Grease a 9 x 13 baking pan.

In your mixer, cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy. Add the vanilla and eggs, mix well. Add the salt, baking soda, and flour to form a cookie dough.

Spread the dough in the baking pan and bake 20 minutes or until light brown and set.

Once baked allow to cool completely. This might take a few hours.

IMG_1622

When the cookie is cooled, melt the caramels with the water, stirring once every minute. Spread onto the cookie and then place in the fridge to set, about 15 minutes.

Melt the chocolate chips in a double boiler or microwave, spread on top of the caramel and return to the fridge to allow to set.

IMG_1630

Once completely cooled and set, remove from the fridge and allow to warm to room temp before trying to cut these, trust me.

IMG_1637