This recipe was inspired by one I found on some weight-loss forums that I follow. I tweaked it quite a bit, because I like my soups, especially bean soups, to be quite thick, more like a chili. The southwest flavors in this recipe speak loudly as-is, so be cautious if you’re feeling bold.

I called this a soup, my husband called it a chili. In my mind, chilis are tomato based, but I’m pretty biased. Either way, this soup/chili is delicious. I topped mine with a dollop of sour cream and crushed tortilla chips (but just a few!). I hope you like this easy and delicious recipe.

Black Bean Chicken Soup
IMG_8982

Ingredients:
1 can black beans
1 can refried black beans
1 can diced tomato
1 small can diced green chilis
1 cup chicken broth
1 small onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic
2 large chicken breasts, chopped into small pices
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp chili powder
Salt/Pepper to taste
EVOO

Directions:

In your dutch oven or large saucepan, heat the olive oil and cook the onions and garlic until transparent. Add the chicken and cook thoroughly. Finally, add the spices and cans and broth. Cook for at least 15 minutes on medium, stirring regularly, then an additional 5-30 minutes on a simmer. The longer you leave it, the better the flavors will develop.